IPA team members are working remotely. Please click here for important member information on Covid-19.

IPA Committees and What They Do

Standards, Ethics and Regulatory Liaison

Responsible for:

  • Considering responses to consultations on insolvency statute and best practice.
  • Discussing technical issues and drafting guidance for the membership.
  • Determining the IPA’s contribution to the Joint Insolvency Committee.
Committee Members
Simon Underwood, ChairChris De La Salle Edward BibleKen MarlandAnna Hughes 
Beverley  BudsworthClare Lindley  Eileen MacleanMark SiddallMaurice Moses
Charles TurnerDavid RankinHemal MistrySamantha Warburton  

Regulation and Conduct Committee

Responsible for:

  • Considering any matter Secretariat identifies as requiring Committee attention relating to the fitness of licensed IPs or liability to disciplinary action. 
  • Considering applications for authorisation.
  • Licence restriction/withdrawal proceedings and invite disciplinary sanctions by consent, including reprimands and fines.
Committee Members
John Newgas, Co-Chair (L)   Chris Gray/Martin Tossell (L)Helen Kavanagh (L)    Katy Walker (OM)        Pauline Peel (OM)  
Neil Bennett, Co-Chair (OM)Diane Dunion (OM)Taranjeet Babra (L)         Michael Leeds (OM)    Peter Hart (OM)
Frances Coulson, Vice Chair (L)      John Briggs (L)    John Boulter (OM)Mike Norris (L)Paul Allen (OM)
Brett Barton (OM)Heather Greig-Smith (L)Julian Healey (L) 

L = Lay Committee Member            OM = Ordinary Committee Member

Regulatory and Conduct rules can be found as follows:

Conduct Rules

Regulatory Rules

Disciplinary and Appeals Committees

Responsible for:

  • Carrying out functions of Disciplinary and Appellate Committees Appeal Tribunals, hear appeals against findings or orders of a Disciplinary Tribunal and decisions to restrict/withdraw licenses; and may affirm, vary or rescind them
  • Disciplinary Tribunals considers complaints referred to it by the Investigation Committee it has the power to exclude members, revoke licenses as well as issuing sanctions
Committee Members:
Richard Long, Co-Chair DC (OM)    Edward Bible (OM)Nick Pike (OM)Dr Stephen Baister (L)  
Richard Mawrey, Co-Chair AC (L)          Gill Wrigley (OM)Nick Wood (OM)Stuart Hopewell (L)
Raquel Agnello QC (L)Helen Smithson (OM)             Philip Long (OM)Charles Turner (OM)
David Pilling (L)John Thirlwell (L)Laurence Pagden (OM)

L = Lay Committee Member            OM = Ordinary Committee Member

Disciplinary and Appeal rules can be found as follows:

Appeal Rules

Disciplinary Rules

Finance and Risk

Responsible for:

  • Preparing annual budgets and making recommendations to Council on subscriptions and fees
  • Monitoring in-year spending and submitting for approval to Council the IPA’s Annual Accounts
  • Monitoring financial risk relating to IPA activity
Committee Members
Paul Davis, ChairColin Wiseman                Kevin Hellard                     Samantha Keen
Amanda Wade, Vice Chair        Hanh Nguyen    Maureen Leslie         Sean Croston 
Carrie JamesJoel GoschalkRussel Payne Simon Baggs

External Affairs and Member Services

Responsible for:

  • Contents for events, social events training for members and articles for the newsletter 
  • Regulations relating to students 
  • Training for students and other members
  • Arrangment of CPI suite of exams and liason with JIE
  • Parliamentary representation 

Dedicated working subgroups can be created from the committee as and when required to consider specific matters such as Annual Conference/PI Conference. 

Committee Members
 Joseph Colley, ChairBarry MochanPauline PeelSimon Carvill-Biggs
Kevin HellardCarrie-Ann JamesNatasha Brodie
Antoinette ThorpeMyles JacobsonSamantha O’Hara
Examinations sub-committee
Lloyd Hinton, ChairDeborah PywowarczukKaryn Jones  
Nicholas Myers, Chief ExaminerHemal MistryLucy Law 
Anna HughesJenny GatleyRachel Lai